Biodiversity of India

Biodiversity is fundamental to addressing some of the world’s greatest challenges such as climate change, sustainable development and food security. India is known for its rich biological diversity. The country has already documented over 91,000 species of animals and 46,000 species of plants in its ten bio-geographic regions.

India as a Mega Diverse Country

India is one of the 17 mega diverse countries classified by Conservation International. The mega diverse counties are the following:

  1. Australia
  2. Brazil
  3. China
  4. Colombia
  5. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  6. Ecuador
  7. India
  8. Indonesia
  9. Madagascar
  10. Malaysia
  11. Mexico
  12. Papua New Guinea
  13. Peru
  14. Philippines
  15. South Africa
  16. United States
  17. Venezuela

India is also recognised as one of the eight Vavilovian Centres of Origin and Diversity of Crop Plants. Nearly 65,000 native plants are still used prominently in indigenous health care systems. Here we have more than 300 wild ancestors and close relatives of cultivated plants still growing and evolving under natural conditions.

Ten Biogeographic Zones in India

There are 10 biogeographic zones in India. They are the following:

ClearIAS Prelims Online Test Series
  1. Trans Himalayan zone.
  2. Himalayan zone.
  3. Desert zone.
  4. Semiarid zone.
  5. Western ghat zone.
  6. Deccan platea zone.
  7. Gangetic plain zone.
  8. North east zone.
  9. Coastal zone.
  10. Islands present near the shore line.

Critically Endangered Animal Species of India

Click to explore the list of critically endangered animal species of India.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *