Important Ministries and Departments Under Government of India

Ministries and Departments of Government of India is a topic mentioned under the Governance section of UPSC Civil Services Mains GS2 paper. Though the number and name of ministries may change with each government, the overall framework will remain the same. Under normal circumstances in each government, there will be separate ministries for Finance, Defense, Home Affairs, External Affairs etc.

Indian Government works by forming different apex offices, ministries and departments. The important ones among them are listed below.

Apex Offices or Committees of Indian Government

  1. Presidents Secretariat
  2. Vice President’s Secretariat
  3. Prime Minister’s Office
  4. Cabinet Secretariat
  5. Planning Commission
  6. Election Commission
  7. UPSC
  8. UGC
  9. Bar Council of India
  10. CAG etc

Ministries Under Indian Government

  1. Ministry for Development of North-East Region
  2. Ministry of Agriculture
  3. Ministry of Agro & Rural Industries
  4. Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
  5. Ministry of Civil Aviation
  6. Ministry of Coal
  7. Ministry of Commerce & Industry
  8. Ministry of Communications & Information Technology
  9. Ministry of Company Affairs
  10. Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
  11. Ministry of Corporate Affairs
  12. Ministry of Culture
  13. Ministry of Defence
  14. Ministry of Disinvestment
  15. Ministry of Drinking Water & Sanitation
  16. Ministry of Earth Science
  17. Ministry of Environment and Forests
  18. Ministry of External Affairs
  19. Ministry of Finance
  20. Ministry of Food Processing Industries
  21. Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
  22. Ministry of Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises
  23. Ministry of Home Affairs
  24. Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation
  25. Ministry of Human Resource Development
  26. Ministry of Information & Broadcasting
  27. Ministry of Labour & Employment
  28. Ministry of Law & Justice
  29. Ministry of Micro,Small & Medium Enterprises
  30. Ministry of Mines
  31. Ministry of Minority Affairs
  32. Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
  33. Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs
  34. Ministry of Panchayati Raj
  35. Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs
  36. Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions
  37. Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas
  38. Ministry of Power
  39. Ministry of Railways
  40. Ministry of Road Transport & Highways
  41. Ministry of Rural Development
  42. Ministry of Science & Technology
  43. Ministry of Shipping
  44. Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment
  45. Ministry of Statistics & Programme Implementation
  46. Ministry of Steel
  47. Ministry of Surface Transport
  48. Ministry of Textiles
  49. Ministry of Tourism
  50. Ministry of Tribal Affairs
  51. Ministry of Urban Development
  52. Ministry of Water Resources
  53. Ministry of Women and Child Development
  54. Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports
Also read:  The Prime Minister's of India and their tenure

Departments Under Indian Government

  1. Department of Atomic Energy
  2. Department of Ocean Development
  3. Department of Space
PS: (1) and (3) are independent departments.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *